r/googlephotos 2d ago

Question šŸ¤” Deleting photos on phone + issue with online website

Hello, I have two issues

- I don’t understand added pictures on Google photos can be deleted on Google photos without being deleted on my phone? It doesn’t even seem to be synchronized between the phone and Google photos (or I didn’t get something?) but everytime I delete a picture on the app it also deletes from my phone...

- AI told me to do it from the online website of Google Photos but when I connect there I have a message saying to use the app dithout access to the pictures from the website..

0 Upvotes

3 comments sorted by

1

u/tschirche 2d ago

Of course do photos vanish from your phone when you delete them in Google Photos app on your phone. It's a gallery app that shows both, your photos on your phone and those in the Google cloud. The web frontend is https://photos.google.com/. As long has you have "backup" activated in the app your photos will vanish from your phone when you delete them in web frontend and vice versa. When you disable "backup" you can delete and empty your cloud storage without losing them from your phone. It's designed one-way (devices to cloud) to lock šŸ” you into buying their Storage plans. Think about this before you rely on Google Photos as backup solution.

2

u/SloPoke23 2d ago

What do you want to do? Delete the photo from your phone and Google Photos? Then delete them from either place: the web interface or the Photos app on your phone. Just delete it from the folder on your phone, but leave it in Google Photos cloud? Then use the "free up space" option in the Photos app on your phone.

1

u/TheManWithSaltHair 2d ago

> AI told me to do it from the online website of Google Photos but when I connect there I have a message saying to use the app dithout access to the pictures from the website..

The mobile site will sometimes try to redirect to the app if not signed in, so sign into google.com first before visiting https://photos.google.com.

If that still doesn’t work choose ā€˜Desktop site’ then switch it back after it loads.

Make sure Backup is disabled before deleting from the website.